Topic 11: Reported Speed

1. “What country do you come from ?” said Bill.
In reported speed this should read:
a. Bill asked what country did I came from.          b. Bill asked what country I came from. ?
c. Bill asked what country I come from.                 d. Bill asked what country I came from.

2. “Do you plan to stay for a while ?” he asked.
a. He asked me do you plan to stay for a while.           b. He asked me if I planned to stay for a while.
c. He asked me did I plan to stay for a while                 c. He asked me if I plan to stay for a while.

3. “Do you have a driver’s license ?” she asked.
a. She asked me do you have a driver’s license         b. She asked me did you have a driver’s license?
c. She asked me if I had a driver’s license                    d. She asked me if  I have a driver’s license.

4. “Do puppies travel free ?” asked a dog owner.
a. A dog owner asked that puppies travelled free.
b. A dog owner asked did puppies travel free.
c. A dog owner asked if puppies travelled free.
d. A dog owner asked if puppies travel free.

5. Tom said: “New York is bigger than London”
a. He says that New York is bigger than London     b. He said that New York was bigger than London
c. He said that New York is bigger than London     d. He says that New York was bigger than London

6. “Eat more fruit and vegetables” the doctor said.
a. The doctor said me to eat more fruit and vegetables.
b. The doctor told me to eat more fruit and vegetables.
c. The doctor said eat more fruit and vegetables.
d. The doctor told me eat more fruit and vegetables.

7. Tùng said, “I haven’t seen Tâm for a while.”
a. He said that I hadn’t seen Tâm for a while       b. He said that I haven’t seen Tâm for a while
c. He said that he hasn’t seen Tâm for a while     c. He said that he hadn’t seen Tâm for a while

8. Claire asked, “What time do the banks close ?”
a. Chaire wanted to know what time the banks closed.
b. Chaire wanted to know what time do the banks close ?
c. Chaire wanted to know what time did the banks closed ?
d. Chaire wanted to know what time the banks close.

9. Direct: The teacher said to us, “Don’t make so much noise.”
Indirect: …………………………
a. The teacher asked us not to make so much noise.
b. The teacher told us that we didn’t make so much noise.
c. The teacher said we didn’t make so much noise.
d. The teacher ordered us if we didn’t make so much noise.

10. “Are you willing to travel?” she asked
a. She asked me if I am willing to travel.      b. She asked me am I willing to travel.
c. She asked me was I willing to travel.         d. She asked me if I was willing to travel.

11. “Don’t shout” I said to Jim
a. I said to Jim don’t shout.         b. I told to Jim not to shout.
c. I told Jim not to shout.             d. I told Jim don’t shout.

12. “What do you do in your spare time?” she asked.
a. She wanted to know what did I do in my spare time ?
b. She wanted to know what I did in my spare time ?
c. She wanted to know what I do in my spare time ?
d. She wanted to know what do I do in my spare time ?

13. Charlie said: “You can come and stay with me if you ever in London.”
a. He said I can come and stay with him if I am ever in London.
b. He said I could come and stay with him if I was ever in London.
c. He said you can come and stay with him if you are ever in London.
d. He said you could come and stay with him if I you are ever in London.

14. The police officer said to us: “Where are you going?”
a. The police officer asked us where were you going.
b. The police officer asked us where are you going.
c. The police officer asked us where you were going.
c. The police officer asked us where we were going.

15. “Stay in bed for a few days,” the doctor said to me.
a. The doctor said me to stay in bed for a few days.
b. The doctor told  to me to stay in bed for a few days.
c. The doctor said me stay in bed for a few days.
d. The doctor told me to stay in bed for a few days.

16. Charlie said: “Nora and Jim are getting married tomorrow.”
a. He said that Nora and Jim are getting married the next day.
b. He said that Nora and Jim were getting married the next day.
c. He said that Nora and Jim were getting married the tomorrow.
d. He said that Nora and Jim are getting married the tomorrow.

17. “Please don’t tell anyone what happened” Ann said to me
a. Ann said to me don’t tell anyone what happened.
b. Ann told me don’t tell anyone what happened.
c. Ann asked me don’t tell anyone what happened.
d. Ann asked me not tell anyone what happened.

18. “How are you?” He asked.
a. He asked me how was I ?       b. He asked me how I am.
c. He asked me how are I ?        d. He asked me how I was.

19. “What are you doing now?” he asked.
a. He asked me what you were doing now.     b. He asked me what I am doing now.
c. He asked me what was I doing now?             d. He asked me what I was doing now.

20. Charlie said: “I’m thinking of going to live in Canada.”
a. Charlie said that he is thinking of going to live in Canada.
b. Charlie said that I am thinking of going to live in Canada.
c. Charlie said that he was thinking of going to live in Canada
d. Charlie said that I was thinking of going to live in Canada.

21. Mary said: “My mother is in hospital.”
a. Mary said that her father is in hospital.       b. Mary said that her mother was in hospital.
c. Mary said that her mother is in hospital.    d. Mary said that her father was in hospital.

Leave a Reply

